You can edit the permissions for a user by going to the Admin section in the navigation bar (admins only!) and clicking on the name of the user in question. This will bring you to that user’s permissions control panel. There are a number of settings here, and we’ll take a moment to explain them now:
A user can either have read-only, standard, or administrative access. A read-only user will not have the ability to create, modify, or delete most things in your account. The only thing they can create is messages and tasks, so they can still keep in the loop and stay organized. A standard user will be able to edit most things that they are able to see, but can only edit messages, tasks and events that they created. An administrator can see and edit anything within their account (except for private messages — you can only see these if you are specifically selected to see them).
Next there are a few settings and privileges that must be turned on for anyone that is not an administrator. You can choose a level of task access for the user; “their own” only lets them see tasks that are assigned directly to them, “their own or unassigned” allows them to also see tasks assigned to “anyone”, and “all” allows them to also see tasks assigned to other users that they work with (see user groups below). Activity log access allows the user to see the activity log on the dashboard. Export privileges allow your users to make exports of various collections of data throughout your account, such as (but not limited to) contacts, venues, and bookings. Itinerary access allows them to access the itineraries section.
There are a number of limitations you can add to an account as well. For events and messages, it is possible to make it so that a user can only see the ones they are specifically included on for email updates — as if every message and event acted as if it was private with regard to that user, so they can only see the ones specifically intended for them. You can toggle this separately for messages and tasks here. If you don’t want a user to be able to see your database of contacts or venues, you can determine that here too.
You can use User Groups to determine which users in your account are able to interact with one another or access certain things. A user can only see another user if they are in a group together. Initially, we give you a Default Group that all of your users will end up in when you first add them; you can add your own groups by following the “Manage Groups” link, and can organize your users into other groups as you add them by coming to their permissions control panel. User groups can also function as a handy hook for selecting batches of users when sending out messages or making events — you can click the checkbox for the group to include all of its members at once instead of having to check them all individually.
You can control who can access a file or folder when you create it, or later by editing it. On the form for files and folders, you’ll see a “Who can access this?” checklist, with a list of users — simply select the users you wish to be able to access it. Note: if a user cannot access a folder, they cannot access any files within that folder.
Contacts & Venues
It is also possible to keep certain contacts and venues private from certain users. For example, you may like to do this if you have the members of one of your bands entered with their contact info and want to keep this information private from another one of your bands. To achieve this, look for the “Limit access to user groups?” checkbox under “View Control” when creating or editing a contact; after you check it, you can choose from a list of user groups for who you want to be able to see the item in question.
If you have any artists entered in your account, this is where you control who is able to access them. There are three settings for access level: None, Read Only, and Full. If ‘None’ is chosen, the user will not be able to see the artist or any events associated with them. If ‘Read Only’ is selected, the user will be able to see the artist and its schedule, but will not have the ability to make any changes. ‘Full’ gives them them full visibility and the ability to edit and add things for that artist. In addition to the access level, you can also toggle settings for financial and Facebook access. A user with ‘Financial’ checked will be able to see financial information entered on bookings for the chosen artist. The ‘Facebook’ option grants the user the ability to perform Facebook syncing functions for a particular artist.